top of page

The Runaway--A Poem



Remember me softly, on a noisy, hard day.

I remember the words you spoke, before you went away.

We waited at the window, watching for you.

But when word came that you’d run, our sorrow just grew.

Remember me softly, on a noisy, hard day.

I remember you softly, but no longer without edge.

And at night, I can still see your horse, riding into the hedge.

Mama gasped and she cried when she knew

That no longer would we be waiting for you.

The soldiers came to carry you away

and we told them that we hadn’t seen your for days,

which was true.

And from that day forward, I stopped waiting for you.

My friend, didn’t you know?

How it pained us to watch you go?

I still remember you softly, on noisy, hard days, but not without ache, and not without pain.

A bird said she’d heard the gunshots

a few miles away

And trust when I say,

that I remembered you especially well, that noisy, hard day.

19 views

Recent Posts

See All

A short poem written at a late hour

Hello! I shared a weird poem I wrote a while back with a friend of mine, and she suggested adding it to my blog, so here it is!! I hope you enjoy it as much as I did Perspective of a moth and a bug za

pexels-photo-1008000_edited.jpg

Greetings From The Planet Writing Daisies!

I am a Christian Teen writer who enjoys reading, art, bad puns, and music--especially Ukulele!

I started writing when I was nine years old. I told stories to my siblings daily, so it only made sense to take the next step up, and I love it! I hope you enjoy some of the things I've decided to share from my own experiences!

Jesus loves you <3

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Pinterest
bottom of page